Scripture Meditation: Psalm 73:26

Scripture Meditation

My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26 (NKJV)

There are many times when our hearts fail us. We come across the pain of life and we feel deeply broken in our hearts.

The Psalm above understands this pain. My flesh and my heart fail. I have felt that so many times during this journey with my husband.

My flesh is weak. It fails me when I turn to anger. It fails me when I am so overcome with sadness. I have all these emotion inside and they fail me. They make me think that I cannot go on anymore.

I think that I am too weak to follow God in this. I am too weak to keep trusting God to work this out one more day. It seems like I just can’t do it anymore. I want to try to keep going. But, the pain of my husband’s past or current sins are just too much. I feel too disappointed in this life. And I just can’t take it any longer.

During those intense moments, I can meditate on this Psalm. God is the strength of my heart. Thank God! Please, read it again. I do not have to have my own strength. It’s okay if I can’t go on another day. Because God is my strength.

My heart is crumbled and so broken, but God will be the strength of my heart. He will carry me through the painful moments. He will bring the energy to me so that I can trust Him longer. When the difficult moments come, God will be my portion.

Please take a moment to read Psalm 73:26. Write down this verse in your journal. After you write it, think about what it means to you. Write a prayer to God of the ways your flesh and heart have failed. Share all your burdens with Him.

Then, write the ways that God is your strength. How is He helping you through each day? How do you want Him to be your strength? What areas is your flesh trying to hold onto? Maybe you need to commit those areas to God today. Let Him be the full strength of your heart. He will guide you through these times.

Dear Holy God,

Thank You ever so much. You are my strength! My heart is so weak and it is failing me. I am overcome with bad, painful memories. I am distressed by my husband’s choices. God, my heart is hopeless. But, You, God, are hope! You are my hope. There is nothing else. Only You. Please help me to meditate on this Psalm today. Bring its truth close to my heart. Help me to commit to relying on You today. And, God, thank You for Your love. Thank You for being with me each moment. I love You, Lord.

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen

 

2 thoughts on “Scripture Meditation: Psalm 73:26

  1. thank you for sharing, that so ministers to me today! please pray for me, though its been over a year, this seems harder in some ways than last year when I “found out”, mostly because there was full disclosure in april which was hard because it was worse than I thought and because we had had a little honeymoon stage after the first disclosure last fall when I felt like I had a “new” husband, like he was a new believer and totally in love with me in his new repentant state, he is still doing well thank you Lord as far as temptation and lust but the anger fights we had over the summer really crushed the sense of new beginning we had, along with of course the more infor that I learned in april, my heart is broken and sometimes it seems I am not recovering, I am seeing a counselor alone and with me husband, he is a Christian counselor and that is good but doubts still attack me constantly , I don’t want to be double minded but trust that God has led me not only to forgive but to stay with my husband and wants to heal us and is working in us to do that. So thank you again as this post is meant for me today! May the Lord bless and strength you and your family to.

    Like

  2. Hi Kayla,
    That’s wonderful that you’re both seeing a counselor and still working hard on your marriage. I completely understand that it’s so much harder to trust when there are multiple disclosures. That’s how my husband confessed also. It was all in bits. It makes it so confusing to believe anything. I am praying for you that God will comfort you and be with both of you. God bless you.

    Like

Comments are closed.