Cleansing Your Mind: For Husbands

Cleansing Your Mind

This is a post written by my husband for your husband. You can read a prayer written by him here. You can also check out the Ask My Husband page. Additionally, there is a new post for the Restoring Marriages Bible Study so that you can find all the days on one post.

Cleansing Your Mind: For Husbands

Philippians 4:8

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy- meditate on these things.(NKJV)

Image after image after image followed by more images. Why won’t they go away? I just want to follow you God. I promise this is the last time I act on these images.

The times I promised God that I would cease acting on images only to continue seeing the same images and looking for new and better ones led to my destruction. I cannot cease acting on images or putting images in my mind. I am not in control. God is in control. As all my darkest secrets rose to the surface, exploding into the face of my wife, changing our lives forever, only then did I discover the power of the Holy Spirit. Through the Holy Spirit, I am being cleansed. It didn’t happen overnight; actually, the cleansing is still occurring.

I wake up each morning asking God to remind me of the amazing wife I have, an amazing wife given to me by a perfect God. In addition, I put on the armor of God each day. God and I have been walking together for approximately three years, diffusing Satanic attacks. Here are some ways I’ve been able to cleanse my mind with God as my guide:

  1. No matter what, as much as possible, do not look at a woman the second time. Actually, do not look for long the first time if you know the look will turn to an improper vision in your mind.
  2. Stop going to those appropriate websites that you know can become slightly inappropriate if you hang around too long or scroll down too far. I’ve stopped going to the most popular sports websites over a year ago, and while I may not know the world of sports as much as I did for years, my marriage is better. There’s nothing we want more as husbands than for our marriages to be awesome. By the way, television shows, commercials, some radio talk shows, etc. should also be eliminated from your list of daily activities.
  3. Ask God to lessen the intensity of the visions of our past. God works in his time. Personally, the visions fade over time and entangle together into a spot of “nothing”. I’ve also envisioned God lifting me up from the spot or blemish that once ruled my life. As he lifts me, the spot gets smaller and smaller, and one day it will be gone. I had ruined my marriage with visions of other women, and my wife, through her love for God, has provided another chance. We must win with God.

Dear Amazing, Wonderful, Perfect, Forgiving God that makes anew all we have destroyed if we listen to you, trust you, and obey. I pray that you guide me to meditate today on the things that are of you. Please God, I have these visions from past sin, and I pray that you lead me to meditate on you so the intensity of the visions lessen and eventually they become nothing in my mind. God, thank you for my beautiful wife you gave me to spend the rest of my life with. Thank you for creating her in your image for me to have while here on this earth as a partner. I am putting your armor on today, God, for it says in your Word: “Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil” – Ephesians 6:11. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Your first month is free at Covenant Eyes when you click on this banner.

One thought on “Cleansing Your Mind: For Husbands

  1. Really powerful honest prayer, thank you! #1 is my main challenge atm. I am disgusted with myself.

    I shall thank God for my wife every night in my bedtime prayer.

    Best wishes

    David

    Like

Comments are closed.