Trust in the Lord

note

On this blog, there’s a lot to say about trust. I talk about it all the time. The comments bring it up. Also, most e-mails from wives talk about trust. We usually talk about trust pertaining to our husband. However, today I want to talk about trusting in God. Proverbs 3:5-6 says,

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths. (NKJV)

Do you believe that?

This is a highly popular verse, but did you ever take the time to really read it? It says to trust in God with all your heart. It says not to rely on your own point of view. Finally, it says that if we trust in God, he will lead our paths.

Let’s consider this. After facing a betrayal from your husband, it is very difficult to trust him again. In many situations it can be near impossible. I still struggle with trusting my husband at times. Trust is something that is given freely until it is broken. Once it is broken it takes a very long time to build up again and repair. There are so many strategies to build trust in our marriage again. However, trust in God doesn’t have to be built. We can freely have it! In fact, many times God commands us in the Bible to trust in Him.

For me, this is so relieving. It is such a blessing to know that I can put all my trust in God. I can come to God as many times as I want to. I can cry out to Him. I can claim His promise that if I trust in Him, he will direct my paths!

When I started this journey of healing and restoration in my marriage I was so confused. I didn’t know which steps to take. I made many mistakes. But, to know that if I acknowledge God’s plans in this, He will direct me! How wonderful is that? That brought such peace to my heart. I needed direction more than ever. And now I don’t have to worry about it. I just have to keep on trusting God.

Another thing that I love about this promise it that it says to lean not on my own understanding. That is so amazing to me because in this devastation I lacked understanding. I can read and study for the rest of my life, but I will never fully know why my husband struggles with lust. I do not see the world how he does and this is just something that I cannot understand completely. How reassuring that God asks me not to lean on my own understanding! I am to lean on God’s understanding. God is the only one who can know everything. He is the only one who can see inside the heart. We might not see the whole picture yet. But, God does. Did you ever stop to think that God could have a plan in this trauma for your life? Right now it is so hard to think like that. It is hard to see this when you’re in the middle of pain. But, one day you might say, “God really used that to benefit my life. God made me grow and made my marriage so much stronger.” We really don’t know what we will think after this part of our life has passed.

That is why it is so incredible that we have a Holy, perfect God. The One that we know has a perfect plan for our lives. He is waiting to let that plan unfold. He wants to direct your paths. He wants you to let Him guide you. Will you put your whole trust in God today?

If you have been doing this, please share any helpful things you have learned. If you haven’t done this yet, feel free to share that also and we can pray and uplift each other.

Your first month of Covenant Eyes is free when you click on this banner!

